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WELCOME! 

Please see the below contact information for Board Staff: 

General office 

Email: mn.pdb@state.mn.us 

Phone: 651-793-2669 

Executive Director: Kate White 

Email: kate.white@state.mn.us 

Phone: 651-793-2666 

Assistant to the Executive Director: VACANT

Email: 

Phone:  

Complaints: Chris Krajsa 

Email: christine.krajsa@state.mn.us 

Phone: 651-793-2668 

Contact for any issues regarding complaints 

Investigative Analyst: Abby Smith 

Email: Abigail.smith@state.mn.us 

Phone: 651-793-2667 

Contact for data requests and filing complaints 

https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/license-holders.aspx
mailto:mn.pdb@state.mn.us
mailto:kate.white@state.mn.us
mailto:megan.canny@state.mn.us
mailto:christine.krajsa@state.mn.us
mailto:Abigail.smith@state.mn.us
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FIRST STEPS 

The Qualified Representative, Minnesota Manager, Partners (if applicable), or Individual (if applicable) have 

21 days to complete the required 12 hour Pre-Assignment training course, from the date of license 

approval, hire, or Officer Change application approval per MN Statute 326.3361 subd. 2 (1). 

All approved training providers for this course can be found on our website, located here. 

• Course code PPA is for Preassignment Protective Agent
• Course code PPD is for Preassignment Private Detective

NOTE: Several training courses are offered online, please contact our office for a list of online only courses. 

If you or any employees are an active POST license holder, they do not need to complete the training 

requirements as long as they submit a copy of their active POST license with your renewal forms, per MN 

Statute 326.3361 subd. 4. 

The Qualified Representative, Minnesota Manager, Partners (if applicable), or Individual (if applicable) must 

also be issued an Identification Card by the license holder. 

326.336 EMPLOYEES OF LICENSE HOLDERS. 

Subd. 2. Identification card. An identification card must be issued by the license holder to each employee. The 

card must be in the possession of the employee to whom it is issued at all times. The identification card must 

contain the license holder's name, logo (if any), address or Minnesota office address, and the employee's 

photograph and physical description. The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, 

qualified representative, or Minnesota office manager. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3361
https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/training/Pages/approve-training-providers.aspx?FilterClear=1&View=%7b391c8782-410c-44d7-a853-c8fb780115a5%7d&SortField=Course_x0020_No_x002e_&SortDir=Desc
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3361
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3361
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STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS 

Per MN Statute 326.3361 subd. 2 (3), you (Qualified Representative/Minnesota Manager/Partner) and ALL 

employees who provide licensable services in the State of Minnesota per MN Statute 326.338 must complete a 

MINIMUM of 6 hours of Board approved training ANNUALLY. A list of approved training providers can be 

found on our website here. 

• Course code CPA is for Continuing Protective Agent
• Course code CPD is for Continuing Private Detective
• Course code CPDPA is for Continuing Private Detective AND Protective Agent
• Course code IA is for Initial Armed training
• Course code CA is for Continuing Armed training

You must complete at least 6 hours between RENEWAL MONTH/1/2024 and RENEWAL MONTH/1/2025 

(with an additional 6 hours if armed, per MN Statute 326.3361 subd. 2 (3)) and another 6 hours between 

RENEWAL MONTH/1/2025 and RENEWAL MONTH/1/2026. 

**CEU HOURS DO NOT ROLL OVER** 

For example: if you are unarmed and complete 12 hours of CEU’s all in one year, you will still have to complete 

at least 6 hours the following year. 

You must notify the Board within seven (7) days for change of business address, phone, or business name, per 

MN Statute 326.3385 subd. 1. 

For a business name change, the fee is listed below; 

NAME CHANGE FEE: $25 

You must also provide proof of the name change on: 

• Your Surety Bond
• Your Certificate of Insurance (if applicable)
• Your updated business registry with the MN Secretary of State

Make Checks Payable to: Minnesota Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services 

  1430 Maryland Avenue East, Saint Paul, MN 55106 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3361
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.338
https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/training/Pages/approve-training-providers.aspx?FilterClear=1&View=%7b391c8782-410c-44d7-a853-c8fb780115a5%7d&SortField=Course_x0020_No_x002e_&SortDir=Desc
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3361
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3385
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STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS CONT. 

Corporate and partnership license holders must notify the Board of any change of Qualified Representative, 

Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, or Minnesota Manager per MN Statute 326.3385 subd. 2. 

The fee schedule for Officer Changes is below: 

There is NO FEE for a CEO or CFO change, however an application form is still required. All Officer Change 

forms can be found on our website here. 

• You must maintain a current surety bond in the amount of $10,000, per MN Statute 326.3382 subd. 3 (b).
This information is reported to us at each license renewal, per MN Statute 326.3383 subd. 3.

• You must maintain current proof of financial responsibility, per MN Statute 326.3382 subd. 3 (c), this
information is reported to us at each license renewal, per MN Statute 326.3383 subd. 3.

• The original license certificate must be returned to the Board within seven days of revocation,
suspension, or decision not to reissue, per MN Statute 326.3385 subd. 3.

• Please note that employees you may hire are not license holders themselves. Employees must be on
your payroll, representing themselves as employees only.

• If you plan to change the status of your business (e.g., individual to corporation), you must apply for a
change in license status.

• Licenses issued by the Board are not transferable. If you anticipate a sale of your business, you will
need to contact our agency for instructions, per MN Statute 326.3389.

• Please comply with all laws regarding badges, ID cards, uniform colors, and vehicle colors.

Protective Agent License 

Minnesota Manager 

• Partnership: $800
• Corporate/LLC: $900

Qualified Representative 

• Partnership: $800
• Corporate/LLC: $900

Private Detective License 

Minnesota Manager 

• Partnership: $850
• Corporate/LLC: $950

Qualified Representative 

• Partnership: $850
• Corporate/LLC: $950

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3385
https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/forms.aspx
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3382#stat.326.3382.3
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3383
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3382#stat.326.3382.3
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3383
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3385
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3389
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.3384
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.88
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.98
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HIRING EMPLOYEES 

• Run a BCA and FBI background check, pursuant to MN Statute 326.36 Subd 1.
o A license holder may employ, in connection with the business of private detective or protective agent, as

many unlicensed persons as may be necessary; provided that every license holder is at all times
accountable for the good conduct of every person employed. When a license holder hires a person to
perform services as a private detective or protective agent, the employer shall submit to the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension a full set of fingerprints of each employee and the written consent of the employee
to enable the bureau to determine whether that person has a criminal record. The employee is a
conditional employee until the employer receives a report from the bureau that, based on a check of the
criminal records maintained by the bureau, the prospective employee has not been convicted in Minnesota 
of a felony or any offense listed in section 326.3381, subdivision 3, other than a misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor assault. During the period of conditional employment, the person may not serve as a private
detective or protective agent, but may be trained by the employer. The bureau shall immediately forward
the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to
conduct a criminal history check of each conditional employee. The bureau shall determine if the Federal
Bureau of Investigation report indicates that the employee was convicted of a disqualifying offense and
shall notify the employer accordingly. The employer shall immediately dismiss an employee who has been
convicted of a disqualifying offense.

Any documents regarding background checks for your company (employees you hire) should be sent to: 

 

For questions regarding background check options and fees, contact the BCA at 651-793-2400 or look at this link. 

**The background check results will state whether or not the applicant qualifies to be a private detective or protective 
agent. If you get a letter stating the applicant does not qualify, be advised there is no appeal process with the Board, 
therefore the applicant simply does not qualify and cannot provide services in the State of Minnesota. 

• Issue the employee an ID Card, pursuant to MN statute 326.336 Subd. 2.
o An identification card must be issued by the license holder to each employee. The card must be in the

possession of the employee to whom it is issued at all times. The identification card must contain the
license holder's name, logo (if any), address or Minnesota office address, and the employee's photograph
and physical description. The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, qualified
representative, or Minnesota office manager.

• And have the employee complete at least 12 hours of Certified Preassignment Training within the first
21 days of employment.

MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 

 CHA Unit 

1430 Maryland Ave. East 

St. Paul, MN 55106 

Please include the following: 

• Fingerprint Card
• Signed Informed Consent Form (see template on website here)
• A check to MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in the amount of $33.25

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/Pages/background-checks.aspx
https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/forms.aspx
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RENEWAL INFORMATION 

Your license reissuance is for 2 years. Prior to the expiration date, we will send a reminder email to fill out 
these forms. The entire reissuance application packet can be found on our website, here. You should be 
prepared to submit these materials in a timely manner so that your license will not automatically expire. 

Staff advises you to review the renewal form and materials prior to your renewal due date to familiarize 
yourself with the forms and begin filling out applicable information during your license renewal period instead 
of all at once. 

The Affidavit of Training (AOT) contains all hire (background check, ID card, hire date) and training information 
for you and any employees you may hire during the 2 year renewal period. There is a fillable version of this 
form on our website, under the same tab as the above renewal form. The AOT must be submitted in an Excel 
spreadsheet format to be accepted.

Should you or any of your employees take a training course that is not currently listed on our website as an 
approved course, you will need to complete a Continuing Education Training Application to receive credit for 
the course.  

If you are wanting to create a course for your employees, you will need to complete a New Training Course 
and New Training Instructor Application. 

All training application forms can be found on our website here. 

Feel free to reach out to our office with any questions you may have. We will see you again 

when your license renewal is due!  

Sincerely, 

MN Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services Staff 

Mn.pdb@state.mn.us 

651-793-2669

https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/forms.aspx
https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/forms.aspx
mailto:Mn.pdb@state.mn.us



